Smoove & Zoov team up and announce a new commun mobility offer

To Category Vie de nos startups

Posted on 31 March 2021

Read timeout minutes

Smoove – the leader in the self-service bike market – and Zoov – the technological benchmark in the self-service e-bike market – have teamed up. This new entity  will combine 15 years of experience and innovation to “become the leader in active mobility and to serve sustainable cities”.

 

 

Smoove & Zoov : two mobility and innovation actors  

 

Born from a family’s passion for cycling, Smoove was created in 2008. As a designer and supplier of self-service bikes, the company has now, in it’s 15 years in existence, rolled out more than 50,000 electric and mechanical bikes around the world. The company operates in a total of 23 cities including Moscow, Vancouver, Helsinki, Lima and Paris – the largest bike-sharing service in the world, with more than 360,000 subscribers and up to 215,000 trips per day.

 

Zoov was created in 2017 by Eric Carreel, a successful multi-entrepreneur (Inventel, Withings,  Invoxia, etc.), Arnaud Le Rodallec and Amira Haberah. In just a few years, Zoov has become  the technological benchmark for self-service e-bikes thanks to connected, efficient and reliable e-bikes, as well as the world’s most compact and lightweight charging station.

“The partnership with Smoove gives us the opportunity to execute a large-scale roll out of the technology we have been developing for almost 4 years now. We are very excited about this prospect.”

Arnaud Le Rodallec, CEO of Zoov.

The Smoove-Zoov alliance: an “electric, innovative, robust, adaptable and complete” offer

 

“With Zoov, we combine market access with experience and a technological platform.” explains Ludovic Bertrand, Chairman of Smoove and Head of Two Wheel & Urban Micromobility Business at Mobivia Via ID.

 

Together, Smoove and Zoov will be able to support a large number of cities, meeting their needs, making bikes accessible and contributing to sustainable and integrated mobility. How? Through their innovative range of bike-sharing technologies. “We believe that fleet electrification is the way to increase bike use.” Their goal: to help reduce greenhouse gas emissions caused by transport by 60% by 2050.

 

“We are passionate about working hand in hand with medium and large cities. Cycling needs to be developed everywhere if we want to make an impact. Zoov’s technologies are revolutionary as they significantly reduce investment and operating costs. Together with our expertise with local authorities, they will enable us to make self-service more profitable and easier to implement, while opening the door to additional uses.” – Benoit Yameundjeu, CEO of Smoove.

 

They can already offer connected self-service systems, with or without a station. In addition, Smoove and Zoov are currently working on the development of other offers based on their expertise – relying on local production, and therefore responsible – they should be revealed during 2021.

“This alliance perfectly matches Mobivia’s original goal of making sustainable mobility accessible to all. It strengthens our ability to support the transition to active mobility in the cities of tomorrow.”

Ludovic Bertrand, Chairman of Smoove and Head of Two Wheel & Urban Micromobility Business at Mobivia Via ID

Smoove & Zoov annoncent leur rapprochement et une nouvelle offre de mobilité commune

Dans la catégorie Vie de nos startups

Posté le 31 mars 2021

Temps de lecture minutes

Smoove – leader du vélo en libre-service – et Zoov – acteur du marché du vélo électrique en libre-service – s’unissent, créant une nouvelle entité dont l’objectif est d’allier les 15 années d’expérience de l’un et l’innovation de l’autre, afin de devenir “le leader des mobilités actives au service des villes durables”. 

 

 

Smoove & Zoov : deux acteurs de la mobilité et de l’innovation 

Né de la passion d’une famille pour le vélo, Smoove voit le jour en 2008. Concepteur-fournisseur de vélos en libre-service, la startup représente le plus grand service de vélos en libre-service au monde. Elle a, en 15 d’existence, mis à disposition plus de 50 000 vélos électriques et mécaniques à travers le monde. L’entreprise est présente dans 23 villes au total – dont Moscou, Vancouver, Helsinki, Lima et Paris – et compte plus de 360 000 abonnés et jusqu’à 215 000 trajets par jour. 

Quant à Zoov, la startup a été fondée par Eric Carreel, Arnaud Le Rodallec et Amira Haberah en 2017. A travers son offre de vélos connectés, performants et durables, sa station de recharge compacte et légère (la plus légère au monde) et ses outils de gestion de flotte complets, Zoov est devenue – en l’espace de 4 ans – une référence technologique du vélo électrique en libre-service. 

“Le rapprochement avec Smoove nous donne l’opportunité de diffuser massivement les technologies que nous développons depuis bientôt 4 ans. Nous sommes très excités par cette perspective.”

 

Arnaud Le Rodallec, Directeur Général de Zoov.

L’alliance Smoove-Zoov : une offre “électrique, innovante, robuste, adaptable et complète”

“Avec Zoov, on combine un accès au marché, de l’expérience et une plateforme technologique.” explique Ludovic Bertrand, Président de Smoove et de la plateforme deux roues chez Mobivia Via ID.

 

Ensemble, Smoove et Zoov seront dans la capacité d’accompagner un grand nombre de villes, en répondant à leurs besoins, en y rendant le vélo accessible et contribuant à des modes de transport durables et intégrés. Comment ? Au travers de leur gamme innovante de vélopartage. “Notre conviction est que l’électrification des flottes est la voie vers l’augmentation des usages.” Leur objectif : contribuer à la baisse des émissions de gaz à effet de serre dues au transport, de 60% d’ici 2050. 

 

“Nous avons à cœur d’accompagner aussi bien les villes moyennes que les grandes métropoles. Le vélo doit se développer partout si nous voulons avoir un impact. Les technologies de Zoov ont ceci de révolutionnaire qu’elles diminuent significativement l’investissement et les coûts d’exploitation. Associées à notre expertise auprès des collectivités, elles vont nous permettre de rendre le libre-service plus rentable, plus simple à mettre en place, et d’ouvrir le champ à des usages complémentaires” indique Benoît Yameundjeu, Directeur Général de Smoove.

 

L’entité peut d’hors et déjà proposer des systèmes en libre-service connectés, avec ou sans station. Par ailleurs, Smoove et Zoov travaillent actuellement sur le développement d’offres en lien avec leurs expertises – en s’appuyant sur une production locale, et donc responsable –  elles devraient être dévoilées courant 2021.

“Cette union s’inscrit parfaitement dans la raison d’être de Mobivia qui est de rendre accessibles toutes les mobilités durables. Grâce à cette opération, nous renforçons notre capacité à accompagner la transition vers les mobilités actives au sein des villes de demain.”

Ludovic Bertrand, Président de Smoove et de la plateforme deux roues chez Mobivia Via ID